Y.A.M. Tunku Tan Sri Imran Ibni Almarhum Tuanku Ja'afar
Y.A.M. Tunku Tan Sri Imran Ibni Almarhum Tuanku Ja'afar, a Malaysian, was appointed to the Governing Council of Yayasan Sime Darby as its chairman on 12 February 2019. 
Y.A.M. Tunku Imran graduated from King's School Canterbury in the United Kingdom and obtained his LLB (Hons) from Nottingham University. 

He has several honours bestowed upon him, including Honorary Doctorate from the United States Sports Academy, Honorary Doctor of Laws from University of Nottingham and Honorary Degree of Doctor of the University at the University of Glasgow. 
Skills & Experience:
  • Group Company Secretary of PERNAS (1971-1972)
  • Managing Director of Haw Par Malaysia (1973-1976)
  • Chief Executive Officer of Antah Group of Companies since its formation in 1977 until February 2001
  • Member of the Court of Emeritus Fellows of Malaysian Institute of Management
  • Director of the Institute of Strategic and International Studies (ISIS) Malaysia from 1985 to 2017
  • Past President of Badan Warisan Malaysia (Heritage of Malaysia Trust)
  • Chairman of the Bankers’ Club of Kuala Lumpur
  • Founder member of the Board of Trustees of Kolej Tuanku Ja’afar
  • Founding Chairman of the Foundation for Malaysian Sporting Excellence
  • Honorary Life President of the Olympic Council of Malaysia (was President from 1998 to 2018)
  • Patron of the Malaysian Cricket Association (was President from 1990 to 2011)
  • Patron of Taekwondo Malaysia (was President from 2010 to 2014)
  • Member of the International Olympic Committee (IOC) from 2006-2018 and is now Honorary Member
  • Member of the IOC Sport and Active Society Commission from 2015-2020
  • Member of the IOC Sport & Law Commission from 2002 to 2014
  • Patron of the World Squash Federation (was President from 1989 to 1996)
  • Honorary Life President of the Commonwealth Games Federation (was President from 2011 to 2015)
  • Honorary Life President of the South East Asian Games Federation
  • Executive Council Member of ANOC (Association of National Olympic Committees) from 2011-2018
  • Executive Board Member of the International Cricket Council from 1997-1999 and from 2001-2008
  • Malaysia's National Squash Champion in 1973
  • Malaysia's Chef-de- Mission to the 1988 Olympic Games in Seoul
  • Honorary Vice President, International Masters Games Association (IMGA) from 2008
  • Patron, Sports Law Association of Malaysia (SLAM) from 2019

Directorships of Public Companies:
  • Executive Chairman of Syarikat Pesaka Antah Sdn. Bhd. since 2007
  • Chairman of Yayasan Sime Darby Bhd from 2019
  • Chancellor of Wawasan Open University from 2019
  • Director of Nicol David Organisation Bhd from 2021

© Copyright 2024 Yayasan Sime Darby 198201006191 (85945-W). All Rights Reserved.
Last Updated:
03 Oct 2023
Generic Popup